Dear Members of the SIOP Women Leaders Network,

The field of Paediatric Oncology has been transformed by unstinted efforts of many exceptional women. These women have broken through the proverbial ‘glass ceilings’ and achieved great success in advancing our understanding of childhood cancer. The 2024 SIOP Almanac of Women Leaders profiles many such women leaders and seeks to celebrate and honour their contributions.

Today’s profile is of Dr. Jennifer Geel (South Africa), Head of Paediatric Haematology-Oncology at Charlotte Maxeke Johannesburg Academic Hospital, former Chair of the South African Ministerial Advisory Committee on Cancer Control and Prevention and current Secretary-General of SIOP Africa.

Read her story here:


And here is Dr. Dr. Jennifer Geel’s advice to those who follow in her footsteps:

“My advice to people coming into the field is to get to know yourself. Go to therapy if you can possibly afford it and become aware of what makes you tick, why you chose this career and why you respond in certain ways.”

Other profiles from the 2024 Almanac are available here:

> Dr. Mariko Kakazu:

> Dr. Kusuma Kumary:

> Dr. Raelene Endersby:

> Dr. Marilyn Hockenberry:

> Dr. Simone Abib:

> Prof. Kathy Pritchard-Jones:

> Dr. Odile Schweisguth:

> Additional 2024 profiles will be released in the coming weeks.

> More 2023 Almanac profiles are available here: .

Follow us on social media:

> Twitter(X): @PedOnco_Women

> LinkedIn Group:

> Webpage:

Feel free to contact  the SIOP Women Leaders Network Steering Group leaders ( we’d love to hear from you!


Warm regards,

Steering Group of the SIOP Women Leaders Network:

Dr. Sarah Cohen-Gogo, Canada (Co-Chair)

Dr. Faith Gibson, UK (Co-Chair)

Dr. Adedayo Joseph, Nigeria, Steering Group Member

Dr. Amita Trehan, India, Steering Group Member

Dr. Eman Al-Shamsi, UAE, Steering Group Member

Dr. Giselle Saulnier-Sholler, USA, Steering Group Member

Dr. Monica Cypriano, Brazil, Steering Group Member

Ms. Arliette Sulikhanyan, Steering Group Member

Ms. Liz Sniderman, Steering Group Member